Buddhist
Holidays

The Buddhist traditions celebrates multiple holidays and festivals—all working on the lunar calendar. Some festivals commemorate the Buddha’s teachings, while others tie into local or national customs. But all offer an opportunity for Buddhists to reflect on the themes and practices of their faith.

DateHolidayCategoryTags
Jan 7 Saturday
Mahayana New Year ,
Mar 6 Monday
Makha Bucha , ,
May 1 Monday
National Mantra Day , ,
May 4 Thursday
National Day of Prayer , ,
May 5 Friday
Buddha Purnima , ,
Day of Vesak , ,
Vesak , ,
May 26 Friday
Buddha Day
Jun 28 Wednesday
Anniversary of Guru Rinpoche
Jul 3 Monday
Asalha Puja ,
Aug 1 Tuesday
Asahna Bucha Day , ,
Drukpa Tsheshi , ,
First Sermon Of Lord Buddha ,
Full Moon Day of Waso
Aug 2 Wednesday
Buddhist Lent ,
Sep 24 Saturday
Pchum Ben
Oct 8 Saturday
Myanmar Full Moon of Thadingyut ,
Oct 9 Sunday
Vap Full Moon Poya ,
Oct 10 Monday
Lao: End of Buddhist Lent Day , ,
Nov 8 Tuesday
Yi Peng Lantern Festival , , ,
Dec 6 Tuesday
King Bhumibol’s Birthday ,
Dec 7 Wednesday
Unduvap Full Moon Poya ,
Dec 8 Thursday
Bodhi Day , ,